w3g conference in Stratford ;)

As I mentioned before Gary Gale (@vicchi) invited me to be one of the keynote speakers at the conference.

The venue was the illustrious Holiday Inn in Stratford-upon-Avon. I hadn’t been to Stratford in a number of years and I was jet-lagged as f**k – and it was my first ever public talk about geo-matters. But the presentation went over quite well.

Here are the slides.

But as @ori has already pointed out – they are somewhat cryptically minimalistic.
Unfortunately there is no video of the talk (hey maybe next year guys). I do have a nice photo mid talk (I think that’s the last but one slide visible behind me)

w3g mid-talk

(photo courtesy of Paul Clarke – perhaps the first time I’ve ever seen a photographer participate in conference discussions also ;))

Btw – Chris Parker of the Ordnance Survey wins the award for best post-talk softball question. After I finished my talk he said something to the effect of (paraphrasing from memory)

“Great talk thanks. I love the way you’ve managed to reduce something very complex to something quite simple. Are there any other industries where you can see this sort of thinking being applied?

Thanks Chris 😉

I got a chance to meet a lot of the geo-digerati. Ed Parsons I already knew from GeoLoco, but Peter Batty (Ubisense), Chris Osborne, Steven Feldman, Rollo Home and a number of others were all new.

Unfortunately I didn’t get a chance to listen to Steven Feldman speak – but judging by his general manner and habit of heckling at will – it would have been a riot 😉

Towards the end of the day – I was asked to participate in a geo-discussion panel featuring Gary Gale (Nokia), Ed Parsons (Google), Peter Batty (Ubisense) and Chris Osborne (Itoworld).
Lots of fun, some swearing and an interesting discussion ensued.

Not sure if Gary will ever look at me the same way again.

2 responses to “w3g conference in Stratford ;)

  1. I’m glad you put the smiley into that reference to me!

    Riot it was not but I did manage to spread offense and ridicule quite widely and a couple of people seemed to like it. Downside that I missed listening to you so mutual diappontment with @vicchi’s scheduling. Maybe next year?

Leave a Reply

